KTA Awards

Kappa Tau Alpha's program of awards is directed toward its goal of promoting scholarship. Among the Society's awards:

  • Mott/KTA Research Book Award - Presented annually since 1945 for the best book about journalism/mass communication based on original research. The winner receives $1,000 and a plaque. Entries are due in early December. Named for Frank Luther Mott, noted historian and KTA leader.
  • Student Research Paper Awards - Presented annually at the AEJMC/KTA Awards Luncheon to winners of AEJMC division student academic paper competitions. Details on division competitions are published annually in the AEJMC News. Winners receive a check equal to the Society's age and a certificate.
  • KTA Top Scholar Award - Presented by each chapter to the graduating senior or graduate student with the highest grade-point-average. Each Top Scholar receives a plaque and a KTA medallion.
  • KTA/Keith P. Sanders Outstanding Service Award - Presented by local chapters to recognize persons of outstanding accomplishment, usually faculty or journalism/mass communication practitioners. Winners receive a certificate and KTA medallion. Named for Keith P. Sanders, executive director.
  • Visiting Scholar Award - Up to $1,000 is given to enable a chapter to bring an outstanding scholar to campus for lectures or class presentations.
  • Chapter Adviser Research Grant Awards - Designed to provide research funding support of KTA chapter advisers in recognition of their service and in support of their academic pursuits. The grants provide up to $1,000 for each of a maximum of three recipients a year. Current advisers who have served at least two years are eligible. The deadline for applications is Oct. 1. Click on Rules for additional information and on Application for the required form.
  • Taft Outstanding Adviser Award - Presented annually to a chapter adviser for outstanding service. Named for William H. Taft, who served the Society for 30 years as executive director. Winner receives $500 and a plaque. Previous winners, most recent first: Chris Allen (University of Nebraska-Omaha), Yong Volz (University of Missouri), Sheri Broyles (University of North Texas), Edward Carter (Brigham Young), Tim England (Texas State), Jeanni Atkins (Mississippi), Jeff Fruit (Kent State), Judy VanSlyke Turk (Virginia Commonwealth), Andrew Mendelson (Temple), Peter Gade (Oklahoma),W. Joseph Campbell (American), Margaret Patterson (Duquesne), Alan Stavitsky (Oregon), Mark Popovich (Ball State), Jane B. Singer (Iowa), J.William Click (Winthrop), Karen List (Massachusetts), Tony Rimmer (Cal State-Fullerton), Sam Riley, (Virginia Tech),Thomas Schwartz (Ohio State University), Emmanuel Onyedike (Hampton), Gil Fowler (Arkansas State), Milton Hollstein (Utah), Luther Sanders (Arkansas-Little Rock), George Abney (Georgia), Marion Marzolf (Michigan), Whitney Mundt (LSU), Daniel Pfaff (Penn State), David Sloan (Alabama), Earl Conn (Ball State), Jack Sissors (Northwestern), Taft (Missouri), Lucas Staudacher (Marquette) and Quintus Wilson (Northern Illinois).