Frank Luther Mott - Kappa Tau Alpha Journalism & Mass Communication Research Award

Named in honor of Frank Luther Mott, Pulitzer Prize winner, educator and long-time leader of Kappa Tau Alpha, the award is made for the best research-based book about journalism or mass communication published each year.

Kappa Tau Alpha, the national college honor society founded in 1910 for scholarship in journalism and mass communication, has recognized research contributions to the field since the inauguration of the award in 1944. The winning author receives a $1000 prize.

Entries are judged by a panel of university professors of journalism and mass communication and national officers of Kappa Tau Alpha.

Victor Pickard won the award for the best book published in 2015 for America's Battle for Media Democracy: The Triumph of Corporate Libertarianism and the Future of Media (Cambridge University Press). Pickard places media ownership and practice, net neutrality and other current issues into the larger historical context of previous reform efforts. He concludes that "the current commercial model for media is not adequately serving democracy"and argues for policy makers, media reformers and others to push for structural alternatives. "Pickard's important book speaks loudly to the current debates about the nature of the internet and arguments for and against net neutrality," according to Andrew Mendelson, Kappa Tau Alpha national president and a finalist judge. Pickard is associate professor in the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania.

Other finalists were W. Joseph Campbell for 1995: The Year the Future Began (University of California Press); Teri Finneman for Press Portrayals of Women Politicians, 1870s-2000s: From 'Lunatic' Woodhull to 'Polarizing Palin (Lexington Books); and Diana C.Mutz for In-Your-Face Politics: The Consequences of Uncivil Media (Princeton University Press.

Books with a 2016 copyright will be received until Dec. 9, 2016. Books with a 2016 copyright received after the entry deadline may be accepted if arrangements are made prior to the deadline.

Revised editions previously entered, edited volumes (i.e., collected works by several authors) and textbooks are not eligible. Paperback editions are acceptable. To enter, send six copies to:

Dr. Beverly Horvit
KTA Executive Director
School of Journalism
76 Gannett Hall
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211-1200

For further information, write, phone (573) 882-7685 or e-mail (

Click for a list of previous winners.